Just another WordPress.com site

My mom’s cute idea.

My birthday is Nov 11, which means that this year it fell on 11/11/11.  A week ago I got a card from my mom saying I should keep an eye on the mail for three 11’s that were coming for my birthday.  I started getting birthday cards from my family, the first one came from my brother and sister in law and included a recipe.  Since my sister in law loves to cook I thought it was a sweet thought but then I started getting cards from the rest of my family and they ALL had recipes so I realized that was one of the three 11’s I should be looking for.  My mother also mailed me 11 baby boy buttons and today I got a card from Heifer International with information that mom donated enough to buy 11 small animals for the project.

Baby boy buttons

 

Tonight I made the first of the birthday recipes with my new slow cooker.  This one came from my Aunt Carol.

New slow cooker

Slow Cooked coffee pot roast

1 beef roast (I used chuck)

2 tsp. canola oil

1.5 cups sliced fresh mushrooms

1/3 cup sliced green onions

2 garlic cloves, minced

1/5 cups brewed coffee

1 tsp liquid smoke

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp chili powder

1/4 tsp pepper

1/4 cup cornstarch

1/3 cup cold water.

In a large non stick skillet, brown roast on all sides in oil over med-high heat.  Place in a 5 qt slow cooker.  In the same skillet, saute mushrooms, onions and garlic until tender.  Stir in coffee, liquid smoke, salt, chili powder and pepper.  Pour over roast.  Cover, cook on low for 8 hours.

Remove roast and keep warm.  Pour cooking juices into a 2 cup measuring cup, skim fat.  In a saucepan combine cornstarch and water until smooth.  Gradually stir in 2 cups cooking juices.  Bring to a boil, cook and stir for 2 min or until thickened.  Serve with beef.

My aunt says she never bothers with the gravy.  I didn’t either.  In fact, here are my alternate directions for the way I really cooked the roast:

I didn’t have green onions so I used a red onion since it is mild.  I also didn’t have mushrooms so I just didn’t bother with them this time.  Also, turns out I was out of chili powder so I used hot sauce.  I didn’t brown anything in the pan, I just tossed the roast into the slow cooker, minced the onions and garlic and tossed those on top, then poured the coffee, liquid smoke, hot sauce, salt and pepper on top, set the slow cooker for 8 hours on low, and ran to work.  When I came home the house smelled great and all I had to do was make some garlic mashed potatoes.  Next time I’m doing the mushrooms and gravy with this.  So delicious!   Thanks Aunt Carol!

Yummy! Just waiting for mashed potatoes

I’m going to make the rest of the recipes and post them because my family is so cool and I really appreciate that they all got in on this sweet little project for my birthday.  Also big love to my gal, Libby, who may not exactly be family but she is pretty close and she also kicked in a card and recipe for this little project.  You are the best.

Comments on: "My mom’s cute idea." (2)

  1. I’m glad you liked it! I thought it was a clever idea.

  2. I loved it! And the roast was delicious…

Leave a Reply

