Just another WordPress.com site

Carrot Stew From J.J.

We ate this so fast I didn’t even take a picture.  The recipe makes a small pot of soup.  Next time I’m going to double it.  I liked it so much it made my list of freezer meals that I am going to prepare before the baby comes so I don’t have to worry about cooking.

Ingredients:

1.5 cups sliced carrots (I diced my pretty small)

2 cups chopped broccoli

1-14oz can chicken broth (I used my homemade chicken broth)

1/3 cup chopped onion

1/3 cup butter (I used more like 2 tablespoons, I tend to always use a bit less fat in recipes.  I like it but I’m cheap)

1/4 tsp ground black pepper (does anyone measure this?  I just grind over the pot til it looks right)

2.5 cups milk

2.5 to 3 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese

1/3 cup flour

Directions:

Combine carrots, broccoli & broth in a small saucepan and bring to a boil.  Cover, reduce heat & simmer for 10 min.  Remove from heat and set aside

In a large soup pot cook onion in butter until onion is translucent.  Wisk in flour & pepper & cook for 1 min (J.J. was tricky here, she didn’t mention the flour in the ingredients list!  I’ve made this type of roux before and have learned that you use about the same proportion of butter to flour so I just did that and it turned out fine.  Ha, ha J.J.).  Slowly wisk in milk.  Bring to a boil then stir in cheese, saving some for garnish if you like.  Once cheese is melted, stir in veggies and broth and heat through & serve.

She says it’s great with sourdough bread.  I was so hungry I just ate two bowls and called it a night.  Jason ate the rest.  My mother makes a soup similar to this but with potatoes and celery in addition to the carrots.

Comments on: "Carrot Stew From J.J." (1)

  1. You will be SO thankful for those freezer meals once your little guy arrives! We had 2 weeks’ worth of meals from friends, plus several days of freezer meals, and it was incredible. I didn’t go to the grocery for the first 3-4 weeks after Gianna was born.

Leave a Reply

