Just another WordPress.com site

Zucchini Quinoa Lasagna

This is from my cousin, Tracy.  I love the idea of using the zucchini instead of lasagna noodles and it was really good but my version wasn’t vegetarian because I only had chicken stock on hand so I just went with that.

Ingredients:

4 med zucchini, sliced into 15 strips to fit your baking dish

1 cup quinoa

2 cups veggie stock

1/2 c. tomato sauce

1 small onion

10 basil leaves

2 cups marinara

1 tsp dried oregano

1/2 cup thawed drained chopped spinach

1/4 cup cottage cheese

1/2 cup shredded cheese

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400.  Layer sliced zucchini into a colander, sprinkle with salt & layer with paper towels.  Combine stock, quinoa, tomato sauce, onion, garlic in sauce pot, bring to a boil and simmer 20 min.  Turn off heat, stir in cottage cheese, spinach and basil, season with salt and pepper.  Pour marinara in baking dish to coat, layer with zucchini, half of quinoa, zucchini, rest of quinoa & the last of the zucchini.  Top with marinara & shredded cheese.  Bake for 30 min or until bubbly & zucchini are tender.  Set for 5 min and serve.

I used fresh spinach instead of frozen, it wilted just fine when I put it in the hot quinoa mixture.  Maybe my basil wasn’t very fresh but I didn’t taste it very much in the dish and I think you could omit it if you don’t have it on hand.  It was very delicious and makes quite a large pan, which is a great thing in my house because I like to have leftovers for lunches!  I think this might make it into the freezer meal rotation for the baby’s arrival.

Leave a Reply

