Just another WordPress.com site

Jason and I both pass over the heel of the loaf of bread when making toast and sandwiches and a couple of months ago I got the idea of saving them in the freezer and turning them into bread crumbs.  I was waiting to use up my current jar of bread crumbs before I did it and I finally got around to it the other day.  First I toasted the bread slices on a sheet pan in the oven at about 200 degrees.

Then I cut the bread into small pieces.

Then I threw the bread chunks in the food processor and started grinding them up.

I had to do a bit of sifting.  Some of the chunks wouldn’t get small enough to qualify as bread crumbs so I tossed them out after trying them a few different times through the food processor.  I threw away less than 1 slice of bread so I don’t consider it to be that much of a loss.

The crumbs!

I like doing little things like this.  I don’t use bread crumbs a lot so I hate buying them when a recipe calls for them.  The bread was a mixture of whole wheat, rye and sourdough and I think the flavor will be good.  I plan to keep these in the freezer so they don’t get rancid.

Comments on: "A Tightwad-y Little Thing I Did" (1)

  1. liz cochran said:

    Smart thinking, I always plan to start doing things like that and rarely do it.

Leave a Reply

