Just another WordPress.com site

Baby project

My paternal grandmother, Mutsey, was quite a crafty lady.  Like me, she was often working on a project while watching TV in the evenings.  She made the sweetest embroidered pictures for myself and my brother and sister.  Each one is different but this one is mine.

I decided to make something similar for my son.  As anyone with a child knows, naps don’t last forever so I wanted to do something a bit faster and I used a combination of embroidery and felt.

I started with the name and backed the first name in a felt outline cutout before I stitched on the name.

I added the owls because I like them and also because owls have been a big design trend for kid’s things for the last year or so.  I like it when design elements date themselves.  It’s fun to look at pictures of yourself and say, “Oh, babydoll dresses and Doc Marten’s.  Remember the early 90’s?”

The tree was a last minute addition.  I couldn’t figure out what I wanted to put in the empty space after I did the rest of the picture and it sat around staring at me for a couple of days and then the tree just came to me.  Ta-da!  Baby picture!

Comments on: "Baby project" (1)

  1. I love this, what a great creative job and something you can treasure forever.

Leave a Reply

